The Beginning

     Summer 2010 my brother started telling me that he wanted to run the Rock n Roll Marathon. I was at a loss, I had no idea what this meant. He explained to me that it was a race or a run that consisted of 13.1 miles or 26.2 miles I was at a loss for words. I had a flash back.  The last time I ran was in High school and it was mandatory to run cross country to make the team. I remember running the first race of the season and boy was I embarrassed. Out of the whole race I was second to last and the measly 3 mile race was horrendous. He asked me the question I did not want to hear. I said, “I do not know.” The reason for my answer was my past experience and the dedication it takes to seriously train.
     After a week I let my brother know that I would train with him but would not run the race, I guess I really did not want to have the same experience I had back in high school and coming in at the end. We trained at a park close across the street from our High School. A couple weeks passed then a month to a month and a half.  Then as training was going well my brother lets me know that he will not be running the Rock n Roll and his reason was because of school. He continued training but not on a daily basis as I did.
CRAZY THOUGHT!!!
     My training was going so well that yes I Daniel A. Martinez would run the Rock n Roll Half Marathon. It is a year I would never forget. My aunt had passed away and that was a big motivator to push me to run for her. This is something many people did not know. I continued to train!! My schedule consisted of work at 10 am to 5 pm then I went home had a change of clothes and withing 30 min I was stretching ready to run.  It was actually satisfying.

Image

New Shoes

Image

November 12, 2010

I was ready!!!!!! Had my BIB # 30765 had my new Adidas Adizero Adios shoes and all that was left was food for my stomach and sleep for my body!! San Antonio November 14, 2010

Image

around 7:30 am

  
I got to say it was a good run. Not to long ago did I hear a professional runner say, “You are always going faster than you think you are.” I felt good but I did not know how well I was doing. Originally on my registration I entered an estimated finish time of 3:30 little did I know my training was going to pay off.

ImageThis was one of the greatest moments in my life!! I achieved and completed a race that was not even on my radar at the beginning of the year. I ran 13.1 miles in 2:02:01 which is 1:30 less than I would have imagined. I was healthy and in shape for the first time ever. This was the beginning of something special to come in the future. Little did I know that running would be my thing, running would help others around the world, running would come to motivate other lives around me. I come to let everyone know how ran has changed me and can change you. I will continue to blog about my life in running, accomplishments, goals and much more. I hope you enjoyed and I hope to inspire others to RUN!!!

Leave a Reply

