Now what?

Ok so that was great. I was just introduced to the wonderful world of running but is that it? Christmas and New Years came and went and I still didn’t know what my new adventure would be. Well it’s not like my New Years resolution in the beginning of 2010 was to run period especially not 13.1 miles.

Sometime around February 2011 I was searching online now by this time I did decide that I wanted to train again for another race but what would be my motivation? I always run in remembrance of my aunt and especially for my health but I figured that I could do something special with this new hobby of mine. I was searching and searching and suddenly I came across group of people who run for the purpose of providing clean water to villages in Africa. It was Team World Vision. Now I’m not a big fan of asking others for donations but I’ve always had a heart for mission whether that was to go myself or support from home. I took a leap of faith!!!

I set up my web page and ordered my shirt.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/51a/63140524/files/2014/12/img_3754.png

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/51a/63140524/files/2014/12/img_3753.png
My ultimate goal was to
1. Fundraise $100 per mile
2. Give it my all

The race I signed up for was the 13.1 series. This particular race was taking place in Dallas, Texas in the month of October.

I continued my training running 4-5 times a day straight out of work. Summer was on the way out and fall was coming and and before I knew it we were at Luke’s Locker across Southern Methodist University ready to pick up my bib!!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/51a/63140524/files/2014/12/img_3757.png

After meeting one of my coaches we left to eat and rest. As we arrived at the downtown Arts District I see my teammates.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/51a/63140524/files/2014/12/img_3756.png

And we’re off!!! I believe I was the only San Antonio World Vision runner amongst all the Dallas runners. I ran and felt so good that yes ….

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/51a/63140524/files/2014/12/img_3758.png
I had a personal best of 1:45:31 a drop of 17 min from my first half in San Antonio last year.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/51a/63140524/files/2014/12/img_3759.png

At the end I was able to reach my goal and I did fundraise $1,310.00 and as a team we got $440,000 and now 4,000 people have access to clean water.

This particular run has been one of my most memorable moments ever. The race was so well organized and the route was fantastic!! This race would become an annual tradition for me and my family.

Leave a Reply

