New Trade, New members, New Training

There has definitely been a lot of change at the Martinez home. It is a good thing that Blanca and I are used to change. Maybe we are okay with trying new things. As mentioned in the previous post we are now dog owners.

WP_20150927_07_49_28_ProWP_20150930_21_18_26_Pro

Several nights ago we had some rain here. Blanca decided to wash her vehicle the following day and allow the pups to play outside. Blanca was telling me how the pups were playing in the mud slipping and sliding. You know the pups have showered in the tub more than myself. Just like adults after some exercise and a shower you end up taking a nap.

In such a short period of time they grew. When they went for their first check-up they were about 10lbs. Just recently they went to get their next set of shots and they now weigh 14lbs. I can easily see the difference. Now that they received their 4 month shots they can officially see more of this world.

V__5AA8 V__5080

They look pretty happy to explore beyond our home. It has now been one and a half months since I switched over jobs. Working with my father has been such a great time. I have come to learn and understand what it took for him to put a roof over my head and food on the table. I can easily say he and I make a pretty good team. Here is a little sample of what we have done.

V__0515

Here is the before and after from a boys restroom at an elementary school.

A couple of days ago my father and I drove to Austin to do a job. Here is the view we had.

WP_20151002_12_45_18_Pro

After completing this blog I have to get my clothes packed. We are headed to do a big job in Laredo.

This is the first year that I have officially done speed work. I have been doing about six 400s only because I and hesitant to jump to 800s. This past Thursday while Blanca was walking the pups I tried my first set of 800s. My goal was to do these in under 3:30. I ended with four sets of 800s all under goal time. That was one very tough workout.

track

This was taken a couple of weeks ago. I can say this is one heck of a run group. While Blanca’s next race is the Rock n Roll San Antonio I have yet to decide my next race. I am torn between the illuminations half or the BCS Half in December. My goal right now is to beat my current personal best of 1:44:23 in Dallas. You can see my times by clicking here.

Not only does Blanca love puppies she also like surprises and food. To all the husbands out there it is a good idea to keep dating or surprising you’re wife. Two weeks ago I brought home Blanca some fruit.

WP_20150917_17_02_56_Pro

The following week I brought home some flowers. The fact that they were here favorite color made things even better.

WP_20150927_19_32_41_Pro

I know little things like this make her happy. It makes my day when I am able to do something to put a smile on her face.

As the Lord God continues to bless Blanca and myself I hope he does the same for you too. Everyday that I wake up and I get to go to work and come back to a comfortable home I know that it is Gods provision towards me. Have a wonderful week and be safe.

Don’t forget to check out San Antonio’s very own Downtown Run Group. The best group of guys and gals one can meet and run with. For more info click below

Facebook

Blog

Have a wonderful week and

…Run Inspired…

Leave a Reply

