The beginning of a new season and adventures

Here we are once again. My wife and I both coming from different running struggles yet ready for a new season. 

Where’s Daniel and Blanca?


After our group pictures we begin the season with the Alamo Run. It is a simple four mile run to the Alamo and back. 

Many new faces and some that have sadly moved on to other places. Every new year brings new adventures. 

I began to feel great once again. In such a short period of time Blanca began to gain momentum. She is finally able to go on Tuesday and Saturday runs. 

Both Blanca a I began running new routes near our neighborhood. She would also wake up really early and take the pups on a 3 mile run before work. 

I know Blanca has great potential. With a new work schedule she is finally able to train “full time”. 

On a Saturday evening we were ready to spend the evening at my brothers house. A couple hours before a friend of mine sent me a message seeking a runner to complete his relay race team. I accepted and immediately got ready because time was running out. 


Each leg was 1.75 miles but they were tough. As you can see the route is completely sand. After completing my leg I had to head out because my brother was waiting for me. 



We finished in 2nd place. Not a bad result. 

The following weekend Blanca and I spent some time at the children’s museum. No, we did not go volunteer or work but instead to go play. 

A couple times a year San Antonio Children’s museum opens in the evening for an adults only night. 

This was a fantastic Friday evening. Adults do get tired having fun too. Once we were done we went straight home because the following morning we had our training run. 

Both Blanca and I decided to compete in races more often. We have been watching more and more running videos. Since that time we have begun a more strict running schedule with including speed work and even trail running. I will write more on that soon.

Recaps on the…

Labor Day Whine Run 

San Antonio Zoo Relay Race

Loteria Run 

will be covered in the upcoming blogs.

If you have any questions about my beautiful city all you have to do is ask. Though not an expert I am sure to provide info for you from food to theatre and local events. 

If you are interested in joining or just visiting our group runs visit www.downtownrungroup.org 

Completely free!! 

Our goals are to run a marathon in every state. 

Make sure to visit our state checklist and records tab. 

Where do you live?

 Is there a marathon offered? 

What is a must do in your town?

Have you complete any recent races?

Leave a Reply

