Labor Day Whine Run

So what are we to do on Labor Day? Blanca and I thought it would be great to do the Labor Day 5 miler. The race would take place at the Dry Comal Creek Vinyards and Winery. We had a little under an hour drive from our home to the winery. 

As soon as we arrived we rushed to the same day registration table. Once we got our numbers we began our small walk to the start line. The second we arrived the national anthem began and off we were. 

I heard this race was hilly. I very much agree. I had a quick start. At about 2 miles in my wife passed right by me and never looked back. 


I know we both left it out there. 

The race runs through a neighborhood near the winery. The after party was held at the actual winery. As you can see in the pictures above Blanca was smiling and I was… Let’s just say I was concentrating.

It is pretty difficult to settle on a pace especially when it is a 5 mile race. I’m used to 5k, 10k half and fulls. You don’t want to come out to fast but at the same time you do not want to to fall too far behind. I would put this race under the hilly category and possibly under the yearly must do.

I definitely to recommend the race especially if you enjoy running on a holiday weekend. It is a great way to enjoy Monday with fiends and family. 


This picture is a copy of an art piece in Austin, Tx. Enjoyed our time there awaiting for race results. 

Male 25-29     38:31

Female 20-24     37:56


I came in a close 2nd place


Blanca took home the 1st 

Some trophies and grapes. 

We had my brother,sister in law and one of closest friends Jonathan join us the afternoon. We drove to Lockhart, Tx (bbq capital of Tx) to refuel. We visited a couple of antique stores and then made our way to the outlets stores. While my wife and Jessica stayed there the three guys left a bit early. We left to help Jonathan do some car shopping. It was definitely a day to remember. 

This race is definitely a must do and possibly a yearly repeat. The race was organized by SARR San Antonio Road Runners.  

Are you interested in running? Do you need help or simply need the help of others? 

Join us at Downtown Run Group. All info is located on the link right above. 

You can also ask me. 

Leave a Reply

